UKSW is a Polish public university  whose origins date back to 1954, when it bore the name of the Academy of Catholic Theology. Since 1999 it has been acting as the Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw (UKSW). Throughout its history (especially in the period of the communist regime in Poland) the university has managed to preserve its distinct Catholic identity.

Currently, the university offers educational opportunities to more than 16000 students in 28 fields of study. Studies are pursued on a full-time, residential basis, and on a part-time, extramural basis, both systems offering long-cycle programs (leading to a Master’s degree) as well as the first/second cycle programs (undergraduate/postgraduate programs). The UKSW also offers postgraduate and doctoral programs. In addition to pursuing their degrees, students may choose to participate in a number of academic associations, student organizations or student self-government bodies. The University also has a lively drama society and a choir.

The University is a member of „U 10″ – an association gathering universities which are welcoming towards people with disabilities. The Rector’s Plenipotentiary for Persons with Disabilities provides assistance to students with disabilities. The RPPD office provides information about special programs aimed at engaging these students as well as other events promoting equal opportunities and inclusion. Disabled students are also offered assistance in enrolment procedures.

The University employs over 1,100 people including 785 academic teachers and 344 members of administrative staff.

UKSW has two main campuses: at Dewajtis Street 5, Bielany District, Warsaw (a former Camaldolese monastery from the 17th century), and at Wóycickiego Street 1/3, Młociny District, Warsaw, both situated in the north part of the capital of Poland.

(for more information visit: )